CONTACT:    Bri Warner                                                       FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE




CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (May 8, 2014) - The Charlottesville Albemarle Convention & Visitors Bureau (CACVB) presented its 2014 Tourism Achievement Award (formerly "Tourism Person of the Year Award) to LOOK3 - Festival of the Photograph for being a staple event, which contributes to bringing hundreds of visitors to our area year after year. The award was presented at an evening reception at Jefferson School City Center in Charlottesville in celebration of National Travel & Tourism Week.


LOOK3 Festival of the Photograph is an annual celebration of photography, created by photographers, for those who share a passion for the still image. The LOOK3 mission is to celebrate the vision of extraordinary photographers, ignite conversations about critical issues, and foster the next generation of artists. As a nonprofit organization, LOOK3 challenges assumptions about photography by presenting diverse work by a variety of artists, developing innovative educational initiatives, and offering community engagement events.


Kurt Burkhart, CACVB's Executive Director, said that he is, "thrilled to see this award go to the little festival that can," reflecting that Look3 Festival of the Photograph, "while smaller in size compared to Book and Film, Look3 continues to do a stellar job in attracting financial sponsorships and sustaining a wildly enthusiastic base of support, both locally, throughout the country and abroad."


Also voicing enthusiasm for this year's selection is Gregory MacDonald, Executive Director of Michie Tavern and

the 2006 recipient of this same award.  "We are very blessed to have individuals and organizations in our community who have and continue to contribute in a very positive way.  I believe that Look3 most definitely achieved the criteria established to receive this year's Tourism Achievement Award."  MacDonald was also part of the selection committee that made this year's decision.


Victoria Hindley, Executive Director for LOOK3, rejoices:  "LOOK3 is delighted to be selected for the 2014 Tourism Achievement Award. As my tenure as Executive Director is very new, this honor reflects the hard work of my predecessor, Andrew Owen, former managing Director of LOOK3, his team, and our founders and Board of Advisors. All of these people brought LOOK3 into existence out of a passionate commitment to the power of photography. LOOK3 also shares this honor with all of the remarkable arts and cultural organizations that make Charlottesville such an interesting and vital place to live and visit. Thank you for recognizing and celebrating the contribution of the arts!"  


The annual tourism reception and award presentation allows the hospitality community the opportunity to celebrate the collaborative efforts of the local tourism industry while acknowledging the efforts of one particular individual or group who has shown great leadership through their commitment to tourism in our region.

Past years' Tourism Achievement Award winners include:

2013                 Thomas Jefferson Foundation, Inc.

2012                 Monticello Artisan Trail
2011                 Bob Stroh, Downtown Business Association
2010                 Gary O'Connell, Albemarle County Service Authority
2009                 Leonard Sandridge, University of Virginia
2008                 Michael Quinn, Montpelier
2007                 Richard Herskowitz, Formerly of Virginia Film Festival
2006                 Greg MacDonald, Michie Tavern
2005                 Felicia Rogen, Virginia Wines (Oakencroft)
2004                 Nancy Damon, Virginia Festival of the Book
2003                 Kat Imhoff, Formerly of Monticello
2002                 Bryan Elliott, CHO - Regional Airport
2001                 Bobbie Cochran, Formerly of CACVB
2000                 Helen Driver, Wintergreen Resort
1999                 Patricia Kluge, Virginia Film Festival
1998                 Susan Allen, Former First Lady of Virginia
1997                 Forrest Marshall, Former Board of Supervisors Chair, Albemarle County
1996                 Dan Jordan, Monticello


This year also marked the third year of a new tradition; individuals working in the local tourism industry were recognized for their commitment and excellence in customer service in the following categories:


- Best Server: Restaurant, Bistro, Café, Lounge or Pub - Allen Freeman, Mountfair Vineyards

- Best Chef - Luther Fedora, Horse & Hound Gastropub

- Best Customer Service: Attractions - Steven Meeks, Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society

- Best Customer Service: Transportation Services - Don Terwilleger, Albemarle Limousine

- Best Customer Service: Lodging - Hunter Dillard, Omni Charlottesville Hotel




In tourism and hospitality, a business's success is realized in large measure by the direct contact a person has with someone who is usually on the front-line or who provides customer service.  National Tourism Week is the perfect opportunity to recognize some very special people in our community who have provided a memorable experience for visitors and local patrons.  Winners of the above awards were selected through a public vote, which took place March 9 through April 4.


Additionally, Melinda Crawford, Executive Director for the Charlottesville Albemarle Airport, received on behalf of CHO, the 3rd Annual New Horizons Award, for its "leadership and advocacy ... as a key strategic tourism partner."


Also new this year, the ‘Capture Charlottesville & Albemarle" photo contest winners were presented with cash awards for their winning photos at the Tourism Awards event.  This year, nearly 1,000 images were submitted for the CACVB-led contest.  The jury consisted of three prominent leaders in the local photography industry:  Christian DeBaun, Charlottesville Photography Initiative Operations Director, Victoria Hindley, new Executive Director of Look3 Festival of the Photograph and William "Bill" Allard, renowned Photographer for National Geographic.


- Julia Case, winner, top photo, $1,000 prize

- David Anhold, runner-up, $100 prize

- James Beeler, runner-up, $100 prize X 2 (2 of Mr. Beeler's photos were chosen as runner-ups)

- O.T. Holen, runner-up, $100 prize

- Brantley Ussery, runner-up, $100 prize




About the Charlottesville Albemarle Convention & Visitors Bureau (CACVB)
In addition to serving as the global resource for marketing the tourism assets of Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, through, the CVB assists tour operators, meeting planners, reunions and other groups in planning visits to the destination.  CACVB's mission is "to enhance the economic prosperity of City and County by promoting, selling and marketing the City of Charlottesville and County of Albemarle, as a destination, in pursuit of the meetings and tourism markets."  CACVB operates the Downtown Visitor Center (610 E Main St), which is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and a satellite Visitor Center in the Albemarle County Office Building (401 McIntire Rd), which is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., as well as a touch-screen kiosk at Monticello's Thomas Jefferson Visitor Center.





About National Travel & Tourism Week

According to the U.S. Travel Association, the first full week of May is annually recognized as National Travel and Tourism Week, a tradition first celebrated in 1984. National Tourism Week was established when the U.S. Congress passed a joint resolution in 1983 designating the week to be celebrated in May. In a White House ceremony, President Ronald Reagan signed a Presidential Proclamation urging citizens to observe the week with "the appropriate ceremonies and activities."                              

# # #